Quick enquiry
  • Chelsea show 17

FA announce England Squad for World Cup in Brazil.


England manager Roy Hodgson has named his squad for this summer’s World Cup in Brazil.

The  England boss has selected 23  players for the trip to Brazil, with seven players named on standby.

While there are no uncapped players in the squad, youngsters Luke Shaw, Raheem Sterling and Ross Barkley, who have all impressed this season for their clubs.

At the other end of the scale, 3 players Steve Gerrard, Frank Lampard and Wayne Rooney are all preparing for their third World Cup Campaign having played in the 2006 and 2010 World Cups.

Jack Wilshere and Phil Jones, who have both been absent through injury for Arsenal and Manchester United have been cleared for the tournament.

Meanwhile, on the standby list there are call-ups for uncapped defenders Jon Flanagan of Liverpool and John Stones of Everton, less than a year after representing England in the U20s World Cup in Turkey.

The squad will now travel to Portugal next week to begin their World Cup preparations, before facing Peru in their final match at Wembley on Friday 30 May.

They will then fly out to Miami, where they will play two more warm-up games against both Honduras and Ecuador before completing their road to Brazil in time for the opening game with Italy on Saturday 14 June. 

England open their World Cup Campaign on the 14th of June against Italy, then face Uruguay on the 19th of June before their last group game against Costa Rica on the 24th of June.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Fraser Forster (Celtic).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (England), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Attackers: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United).

Standby: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC).


Web design by Brick technology Ltd.