Quick enquiry
  • Chelsea show 17

Home nations put cities forward to host games at Euro 2020


Four cities from the UK and Ireland are in the running to host games during the Euro 2020 tournament.

London, Glasgow, Cardiff and Ireland have all declared interest, with thirteen cities to be chosen across Europe when UEFA's executive committee makes its decision on 25 September 2014.

The format for Euro 2020 is a way of celebrating the 60th anniversary of the European Championships, first held in 1960- the idea being that holding it across Europe allows the whole continent to celebrate the milestone.

A UEFA spokesman told a news conference: "The matches will be split into 13 packages - 12 cities who will have three group stage matches and one knock-out round match, and one city will host the two semi-finals and final.

"There will be only one venue per country and it means the semi-finals and the final will be played in the same venue."

The full list of countries (and cities) bidding to host matches at Euro 2022 is:

 Armenia (Yerevan), Azerbaijan (Baku), Belarus (Minsk), Belgium (Brussels), Bulgaria (Sofia), Croatia (Zagreb), Czech Republic (Prague), Denmark (Copenhagen), England (London), Finland (Helsinki), France (Lyon), Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (Skopje), Germany (Munich), Greece (Athens), Hungary (Budapest), Israel (Jerusalem), Italy (Rome and Milan), Kazakhstan (Astana), Netherlands (Amsterdam), Poland (Warsaw and Chorzow), Portugal (Lisbon and Porto), Republic of Ireland (Dublin), Romania (Bucharest), Russia (St Petersburg), Scotland (Glasgow), Serbia (Belgrade), Spain (Madrid, Barcelona, Bilbao and Valencia), Sweden (Solna), Switzerland (Basel), Turkey (Istanbul), Ukraine (Kyiv and Donetsk) and Wales (Cardiff)

Web design by Brick technology Ltd.