Quick enquiry
  • Chelsea Show 2017

Liverpool Womens team scoop top awards after lifting title


Women's Super League champions Liverpool were the big winners at the 15th annual FA Women's Football awards held last week, scooping three of the main prizes.

Striker Natasha Dowie, 25, won the Players' Player of the Year and Women's Super League Top Goalscorer titles after scoring 19 goals in 21 games.

"The group of players are such a talented bunch and they've made it easy for me to score goals," she said.

Matt Beard was named Manager of the Year for guiding Liverpool to their first WSL title.

Gillian Coultard, the first England Women's player to make 100 international appearances, was presented with a commemorative gold cap, as was current vice-captain Alex Scott, after she reached the landmark against Russia in the summer.

Scott's Arsenal team-mate Steph Houghton earned the Goal of the Year award for her 25-yard strike against Lincoln.

Sunderland's Mick Mulhern received the Manager of the Year accolade in the Premier League, the second tier of women's football.

The final accolade was the Special Achievement Award, presented to Dawn Barnard from Essex for her outstanding service to the women's game since 1986.

Full winners:

Top Goalscorer (Premier League National Division) - Beth Mead (Sunderland)

Top Goalscorer (Premier League Northern Division) - Jodie Michalska (Sheffield)

Top Goalscorer (Premier League Southern Division) - Fran Kirby (Reading Royals)

Top Goalscorer (FA WSL) - Natasha Dowie (Liverpool)

FA Club of the Year - Bristol Academy

Manager of the Year (FA WSL) - Matt Beard (Liverpool)

Manager of the Year (Premier League) - Mick Mulhern (Sunderland)

Players' Player of the Year - Natasha Dowie (Liverpool)

Goal of the Year - Steph Houghton (Arsenal v Lincoln)

The FA Special Achievement Award - Dawn Barnard, Essex

Web design by Brick technology Ltd.