Quick enquiry
  • Thermopatch thermals

Wrexham lift FA Trophy after dramtic penalty shootout


Wrexham secure their first FA Trophy in a penalty shootout against Grimsby today.

The teams were level at 1-1 after 120 minutes, with Grimsby going ahead after 70 minutes courtesy of Andy Cook, who hit a first time shot from a cross, and fired home the rebound after seeing his first shot saved.

Wrexham scored their first of what would eventually be five penalties with less than ten minutes to go to draw level, Kevin Thornton firing home after Dean Keates had been fouled.

Extra time came and went without another goal and so it went to penalties. Adrian Cieslewicz, Danny Wright and Chris Westwood all converted theirs for Wrexham with  Sam Hatton hitting the bar, Richard Brodie going over the goal, and Joe Colbeck the only successful taker for Grimsby

Up stepped Jonny Hunt who scored Wrexham's final penalty and ensure that they lifted the trophy.



Web design by Brick technology Ltd.