Quick enquiry
  • Wolves event 17

As Neil Warnock is linked to Sheff Wednesday has sacking season just started


As former Blades boss, Neil Warnock is linked with a move to steel city rivals Sheffield Wednesday the perils of being a manager have not been wasted on him.

Warnock has been in charge of 11 clubs in the top four divisions of the English game, and has suffered dismissals at Notts County, Plymouth and QPR.

"You feel desolate when you lose your job," said Warnock. "It's terrible. You've got your own pride and it hurts.

"You get into management knowing you will get the sack - that's why you don't get too carried away when you are winning.

"If you do 15 months as a manager nowadays you have done well. It is a different game.'

Alan Pardew - is now the second longest serving boss in the Premier League - and he has only been in charge at St James Park since December 2010 - he is just approaching the third anniversary (on Monday).

In the Championship longevity is a rare commodity, with no manager having been in chrage for more than three seasons.

With Chairmen holding a finger on the trigger half the time it's appropriate that we are half way through the shooting season and the likes of under pressure Sam Allardyce at West Ham, Chris Powell at Charlton and Aidy Boothroyd at Northampton may yet find themselves on the list before the year is out.

But sacking the boss is not always the answer, and the likes of Accrington Stanley should be applauded for sticking by rookie boss, James Beattie. A deplorable start saw Stanley five points adrift at the foot of the league, but a great run of results has propelled the club towards half-way in the table. Patience is a virtue - but it is not a saying often heard in football.

Managers who have left so far this season - 19

•Kevin McDonald (Swindon)
•Gus Poyet (Brighton)
•Greg Abbott (Carlisle)
•Paolo Di Canio (Sunderland)
•Nigel Clough (Derby)
•David Weir (Sheff Utd)
•Martin Allen (Gillingham)
•Kevin Blackwell (Bury)
•Tony Mowbray (Middlesbrough)
•Ian Holloway (Crystal Palace)
•Chris Kiwomya (Notts County)
•Brian Laws (Scunthorpe)
•Guy Whittingham (Portsmouth)
•Richie Barker (Crawley Town)
•Sean O'Driscoll (Bristol City)
•David Flitcroft (Barnsley)
•Dave Jones (Sheff Weds)
•Martin Jol (Fulham)
•Owen Coyle (Wigan)


Web design by Brick technology Ltd.