Quick enquiry
  • Sondico

The IOG Industry Awards 2012 - The Finalists

The finalists have been announced for the prestigious Institute of Groundsmanship (IOG) Industry Awards 2012, after a record number of nominations were received. 

Now in its fourth year, the Awards acknowledge the high standards achieved by volunteer and professional teams and individuals at facilities that range from grass roots through to professional stadia level. The Awards' judging process recognises achievement, innovation and fresh thinking as well as examples of best practice from the leaders in the world of groundsmanship. The aim of the Awards is to raise industry standards and encourage greater professionalism within the industry. 

The successful winners will be announced, Oscar-style by talkSPORT radio presenter Mark Saggers at York Racecourse on Thursday, December 6.

The finalists are:

IOG Sherriff Amenity Most Promising Sportsturf Student of the Year

  • Susan Lawrence, University of Nottingham
  • Matthew Porter, Leigh Sports Village, Wigan

IOG Rigby Taylor/Top Green Young Groundsman of the Year

Rigby Taylor is the UK’s leading supplier of products for the improvement, maintenance and construction of sports, amenity and landscape areas, including Grass Seed, Fertilizers, Herbicides, Fungicides, Top Dressings, Soil and Turf Improvers, Line Marking Materials, Sports Equipment and much more. For more information visit their website http://­www.­rigbytaylor.­com/

  • Paul Baker, Manchester City FC
  • Luke Dodge, Manchester City FC

IOG Volunteer Sports Groundsman of the Year

  • Rod Heyhoe, Lightcliffe CC, Halifax
  • Gabe Treharne, Miskin Manor CC, Nr Llantrisant, Wales

IOG Grass Roots Sports Ground of the Year

  • Aspatria RUFC, Cumbria
  • Stanley Park Sports Ground, Chippenham

IOG Redexim Charterhouse/­Kubota Best Maintained Artificial Pitch of the Year

  • The Spartans Community Football Academy, Edinburgh
  • Swansea University.

IOG School, College, University Sports Club Grounds Team of the Year

  • Charterhouse School, Surrey
  • King William's College, Isle of Man.

IOG School, College, University, Sports Club Groundsman of the Year

  • Peter Clark, University of Derby
  • Michael Hitt, Kingston University, Surrey

IOG Governing Bodies Professional Spectator Sports Ground of the Year - co sponsored by the AELTC (All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club), ECB (the England and Wales Cricket Board), the Football Association (The FA), the Football Foundation, the Lawn Tennis Association (the LTA), the Premier League, the RFL (Rugby Football League), the RFU (Rugby Football Union) and Sport England.

  • Etihad Stadium, Manchester
  • Twickenham Stadium, Middlesex

IOG Bayer Professional Sports Ground Team of the Year

  • Leeds Rugby
  • Tottenham Hotspur FC

IOG Campey/Imants Professional Football Groundsman of the Year

  • Jonathan Calderwood, Aston Villa FC
  • Andy Jackson, Stoke City FC

IOG Professional Cricket Groundsman of the Year

  • Steve Birks, Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club (Trent Bridge)
  • Mick Hunt, Middlesex County Cricket Club (Lord's)

IOG Professional Rugby Union Groundsman of the Year

  • Keith Kent, Twickenham
  • Greg Smith, Nottingham Rugby Club

IOG Everris/­Syngenta Professional Rugby League Groundsman of the Year

  • Leigh Beattie, Bradford Bulls
  • Keith Porter, Leigh Sports Village, Wigan

IOG John Deere Professional Horse Racing Groundsman of the Year

  • Mark Bemrose, Musselburgh Racecourse, Scotland
  • Shaun Reilly, Huntingdon Racecourse

IOG Professional Tennis Groundsman of the Year

  • Neil Harvey, The Hurlingham Club, London
  • Ian Wall, Bank of England Recreation Club, Roehampton, London.

IOG Ransomes Jacobsen Environmental Project/­Innovation of the Year

  • Forest Green Rovers FC, Nailsworth, Glos
  • Northumberland Cricket Groundstaff Association

The IOG Alex R Millar DLF/Johnsons Groundsman of the Year

The coveted IOG Alex R Millar DLF/Johnson Groundsman of the Year Award is named after the inspirational chair of the IOG, who held the post from 1991-1993 and 2002-2009.

The winner of this Award will be announced at the awards ceremony.

IOG Cleveland Land Services/AFT Trenchers Lifetime Achievement

The winner of this Award will be announced at the awards ceremony.

Visit www.­iogawards.­com NOW for details of how you can attend the most exciting annual Awards ceremony ever staged for the groundscare industry.


Web design by Brick technology Ltd.