Quick enquiry
  • Footy Insider

ex-Bolton Wanderers midfielder Fabrice Muamba is set to present a new award in his name


Football News 24/7
The Northwest Football Awards is delighted to announce that ex-Bolton Wanderers midfielder Fabrice Muamba is set to present a new award in his name at the Awards on Monday, 12th of November.

Fabrice, who recently retired from the game on the recommendation of his medical team after suffering a cardiac arrest during Bolton Wanderers’ FA Cup quarter-final contest against Tottenham Hotspur in March, will be presenting the Fabrice Muamba Award for Medical & Sports Science Professional of the Year at this year’s Awards, which take place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’. 

A brand new award category, the Northwest Football Awards and The League Medical Association have been working closely to determine the finalists for the Medical & Sports Science Professional accolade, with the list of nominees including Bolton Wanderers Head Physi­ot­he­rapist, Andy Mitchell, who was one of the first on the scene to treat Muamba during the incident at White Hart Lane.

The other finalists for the award are Manchester United Head Physiotherapist Rob Swire, former Liverpool Head Physiotherapist Dr. Peter Brukner, Blackburn Rovers Head Physiotherapist Dave Fevre and Barry Drust, who is a Sports Scientist with England and the Football Association.

Looking ahead to the Awards, Fabrice Muamba said:

"I am humbled that The Northwest Football Awards has decided to name this special category after me. It is a real privilege to represent an award which recognises the hard work and dedication of the medical teams within the Northwest game.”

For more details visit


The finalists for the Northwest Football Awards 2012 are:

Community Initiative of the Year

•Burnley FC
•Macclesfield Town FC
•Manchester City Football Club
•Wigan Athletic Community Trust
•Blackburn Rovers Community Trust
•Morecambe Football Club Community Sports
•Bolton Wanderers Community Trust
•Everton FC
Community Club of the Year

•Everton in the Community
•City in the Community
•Wigan Athletic Community Trust
•Bolton Wanderers Community Trust
CSR Campaign of the Year

•Liverpool Football Club
•Manchester City Football Club
Best Club Sponsorship Engagement/­Partnership

•UCFB and Burnley FC
•EA Sports and Manchester City Football Club
•Aon and Manchester United
Best Club Marketing Campaign

•Burnley Football Club
•Everton Football Club
•Manchester City Football Club
Northwest Professional Services to Football

•Pinsent Masons
•George Davies
•SAQ International
Northwest Business Services to Football

Medical & Sports Science Professional

•Rob Swire, Head Physi­ot­he­rapist, Manchester United FC
•Dr Peter Brukner, Former head of Medical and Science Department, Liverpool FC
•Dave Fevre, Head Physi­ot­he­rapist, Blackburn Rovers FC
•Barry Drust, Sports Scientist with England and the FA
•Andy Mitchell, Head Physi­ot­he­rapist, Bolton Wanderers FC

Web design by Brick technology Ltd.